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Family Services Office Supervisors

FROM:
Tina Webb, Assistant Director



Division of Protection and Permanency

DATE:
February 1, 2016
SUBJECT: 
SOP Revisions Due to New and Revised Regulatory Requirements and Level of Care Revisions
This transmittal letter contains important information regarding changes required as part of a new training regulation, Kentucky Administrative Regulation 922 KAR 1:495 Training for foster parents, adoptive parents and respite care providers for children in the custody of the cabinet.  Additionally, changes have been made to Kentucky Administrative Regulation 922 KAR 1:350 Requirements for public child welfare agency foster parents, adoptive parents, and respite care providers, formerly titled Family Preparation.  These regulations became effective on November 18, 2015. 
Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard (RPPS) Training requirement is included in 922 KAR 1:495 as a new pre-service component.   The RPPS training is required as a part of a new federal law, P.L. 113-183 Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act’s normalcy provisions for children in foster care. This Act made updates to both Title IV-E requirements and the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) state plan requirements.  P.L. 113-183 became effective on September 29, 2015.

The New Pre-service Training requirement has been reduced from a thirty (30) hour curriculum to fifteen (15) hours. The training topics are identical to the previous requirements with the exception of the reasonable and prudent parenting standard, emergency preparedness and the impact of childhood trauma. The new pre-service training will become effective on July 1, 2016.

New Training requirements for Department for Community Based Services and Private Child Placing Foster and Adoptive homes in 922 KAR 1:495 include:

· Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard Training – One (1) hour WBT.  This training will be included in the new pre-service training.  Currently approved foster parents will have one year from the effective date of November 18, 2015 to complete this training.  Private Child Care and Placing Agency staff must complete this training. 

· Respite Provider Training for Non-approved Foster Parents - Two (2) hour WBT.  Current respite providers who are not approved as foster parents are required to complete this training within 90 days. 

· Psychotropic Medication - One (1) hour WBT.  Currently approved foster and adoptive homes will be required to complete this training by November 18, 2017.

· Trauma Informed Care - Twelve (12) hour group training.  Currently approved foster and adoptive parents who have not previously completed Trauma Informed Care must complete the training by November 18, 2017.

· Child Sexual Abuse Training - Twelve (12) hour group training. Must be completed by November 18, 2017 for currently approved homes, unless the requirement has previously been met.

· Behavior Management - Five (5) hour group training.  Currently approved homes must complete by November 18, 2017.  This curriculum is being developed.

· Care Plus - Twelve (12) hour group training.  This training has been reduced from 24 hours and is required annually.

· Medically Complex Join Hands Together and Ongoing Training - Twelve (12) hour group training. This training has been revised and reduced from a 16 hour curriculum.

· Psychotropic Medication, Trauma Informed Care, Behavior Management and Child Sexual Abuse Training - Thirty (30) hours must be completed within the first two (2) years of approval for DCBS and PCP foster and adoptive parent applicants.

· Ongoing training requirements following two (2 ) years of approval:

· Basic Ongoing Training- Ten (10) related to knowledge and skills relevant to foster parenting;

· Medically Complex Ongoing Training- Twelve (12) hours specific to caring for children designated as medically complex and an additional ten (10) hours related to knowledge and skills relevant to foster parenting; and

· Care Plus Ongoing Training- Twelve (12) hours specific topic areas related to providing care for a child designated as care plus and an additional ten (10) hours related to knowledge and skills relevant to foster parenting. 
Attachments: Training Requirement Table

Chapter 4 Out of Home Care Services and Chapter 12 Resource Parent Recruitment, Certification and Reimbursement have been impacted by the new training regulation and changes to 922 KAR 1:350.  The affected SOP sections are listed below with a brief statement describing the change.  SOP affected only by the terminology changes of foster parent, adoptive parent and medically complex will not be included below.  

Chapter 4:

· SOP 4.30 Normalcy for Children and Youth in Out of Home Care – New SOP.  Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard requirements pertaining to supporting developmentally age appropriate activities for children in foster care and the selection of babysitters are outlined for foster parents, DCBS staff, PCP Staff and PCC staff.
Chapter 12:

· SOP 12.2.1 Region Budget for Recruitment - R&C staff must send request for recruitment orders to the attention of Kevin McAfee on the Adoption Services Branch.  These requests were formerly sent to the attention of the Out of Home Care Branch.

· SOP 12.3 Foster and Adoptive Home Applicant Assessment Process - Includes a new Foster/Adoptive Parent Application and DPP-170 Financial Information for Foster/Adoptive Parents.  The new Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) home study process has been incorporated in the assessment process.

· SOP 12.3.1 Foster, Adoptive and Respite Home Parent Applicants - Requests for the commissioner to approve employees or former employees as foster, adoptive or respite home providers are sent to the attention of the Adoption Services Branch.  Employees with prior case responsibility may adopt a child in the custody of the cabinet when approved by the commissioner.

· SOP 12.5 Pre-Service Training Requirements for Foster and Adoptive Parent Applicants - Includes the new pre-service training topics and required web-based trainings: 1) Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma, 2) First Aid and Universal Precautions, 3) Medication Administration and 4) Medical Passports.
· SOP 12.6 Foster and Adoptive Home Parents Approved by Other States or Licensed Child Placing Agencies - Applicants must complete a new foster and adoptive parent application.  SAFE Questionnaire II is administered and the SAFE home study update process is followed.  

· SOP 12.7 Approval and Denial - Includes the new Foster and Adoptive Parent Application and SAFE Home Study process.

· SOP 12.10 Rights and Responsibilities of DCBS Foster and Adoptive Home Parents - Ensures that children under the age of thirteen (13) are not left alone without responsible supervision.  Foster parents are required to notify the Cabinet if leaving the state with a child placed by the cabinet for more than twenty-four (24) hours or if a child will be absent from the foster home for more than twenty-four (24) hours.  Foster parents must notify the Cabinet fourteen (14) calendar days in advance of the homes intent to become certified to provide foster care or adoption services through a private child-placing agency in accordance with 922 KAR 1:310.  The Cabinet may require adult supervision of the developmentally disabled child age thirteen (13) and over at all times as a part of the child’s case plan. Foster parents may approve developmentally and age-appropriate opportunities for activities, which stimulate the growth and development of the child and select short term babysitters, for periods of twenty-four (24) hours or less  when applying the reasonable and prudent parent standard.

· SOP 12.11.1 Placement Exception Requests - One (1) form will be used to document the placement exception request and plan.  The new DPP-112A DCBS Placement Exception Request will be used for DCBS homes and the new DPP-112B Private Child-Placing Agency Placement Exception Request will be used for private agencies.  These forms must be completed prior to the placement.  If an exception is necessary for a placement to occur outside of normal business hours, the information contained in the DPP-112A or DPP-112B is provided verbally to the SRA or designee prior to the placement and the form submitted on the first business day following the placement.

· SOP 12.12 Respite Care – A two (2) hour training has been developed for respite providers who are not approved as foster and adoptive parents.

· SOP 12.13 Home Environment Prerequisites - Upon approval a foster or adoptive parent may request written approval to provide child care center services in accordance with 922 KAR 2:090.  When necessary to save a child’s life, the child may self-administer medication.  All household animals are to be appropriately vaccinated.  Mattresses must be size and age appropriate and have a clean and tight-fitted sheet that is changed weekly.  Homes with gas heating or appliances are to be equipped with a carbon monoxide detector.

· SOP 12.15 Ongoing Training- Outlines the new ongoing training requirements for basic, care plus and medically complex foster homes.

· SOP 12.16 Annual Re-evaluation - The new SAFE annual re-evaluation tool is completed for all foster and adoptive homes. 

· SOP 12.18.1 Advanced Resource Home Approval - Has been deleted.  New criteria have been established for advanced homes.  A foster or adoptive home that has been approved for two (2) years will become advanced upon completion of the required training.
· SOP 12.18.2 Emergency Shelter Home - Has been deleted.  DCBS will no longer be approving Emergency Shelter Homes.

· SOP 12.18.3 Medically Complex Home - Training requirements have changed from sixteen (16) to twelve (12) hours.

· SOP 12.18.4 Specialized Medically Complex - Degreed Specialized Medically Complex parents professional experience may substitute for the initial and ongoing training requirement, if training is in the area of pediatrics.

· SOP 12.19 Closure of a Foster or Adoptive Home and Reopening - The new Application to Foster and Adopt and DPP-170 Financial Information for Foster/Adoptive Parents have been added.

· SOP 12.28 Respite Expenses - Clarifies that foster and adoptive parents are responsible for reimbursing their respite providers.

· SOP 12.30 Supplemental Services Expenses - To qualify for this rate provider services to meet the needs of the child must be available within the Foster or Pre Adoptive parent’s home community.  Trauma Informed Care training is required.
In addition to the SOP changes, the following documents have also been revised or added to the manual:

· DPP-170 Financial Statement for Foster-Adoptive Parents 

· DPP-112A DCBS Placement Exception Request 

· DPP-112B Private Child Caring Agency Placement 

· DPP-113 Request for Applicant or Adult Household Member to Attend Individualized Training  (New)
· DPP-104C Medically Complex Monthly Report 

· DPP-111 Foster Home Contract 

· DPP-1290 Family Home Study Checklist Coversheet 

· DPP-1291 Foster Adoptive and Respite Home Discipline Policy 

· Privacy and Security of Protected Health Information, Confidential and Other Sensitive Information 

· Foster-Adoptive Family Checklist (New) 

· Application to Foster or Adopt (New) 

· Foster-Adoptive Annual Re-Evaluation Report (New)
· Medically Complex Designation Tip Sheet 

· Placement Change Tip Sheet 

· Placement Exception Requests Tip Sheet 

· CCSHCN Medically Complex Nursing Staff 

If you have any questions regarding the SOP revisions due to regulatory requirements, please contact: 
Diane Underwood, Adoptions Services Branch Manager
Diane.underwood@ky.gov                





(502) 564-2147, ext. 3604

OR

Denise Weider

Denise.weider@ky.gov
(502) 564-2147, ext. 3607

Also, revisions have been made to SOP 4.11.1 Level of Care Assignment and SOP 4.11.3 Reviews of LOC Assignment. The revisions were made to address the need to level a child under the age of four that is medically complex for payment purposes.

If you have any questions regarding the level of care revisions, please contact: 

Tina Hagenbuch, OOHC Branch Manager

Tina.Hagenbuch@ky.gov
(502) 564-6852, ext. 3577
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